Broadcast Scholarships Given to Students in Kansas

Posted 2 years ago

By Post Staff

The Kansas Association of Broadcasters will award $10,000 in scholarships to Kansas students attending colleges and universities in the state
next school year.  That brings the total scholarships provided broadcast students since 1988 to $280,000.

To earn the scholarship students must be a Kansas resident attending a post-secondary institution, enrolled full time in a broadcast related curriculum and maintain a 2.5 or higher GPA.  All recipients this year had a GPA of 3.35 or above.  Applicants were interviewed in person by a select committee of KAB members including Chairperson Olivia Dorsey of KMBC-TV – Kansas City, Cliff Shank of KSKU-FM/KNZS-FM/KXKU-FM/KWHK-FM – Hutchinson, Jim Allan of KTPK-FM – Topeka, Justin Fluke of KNZA-FM – Hiawatha, and Kent Cornish, KAB President/Executive Director.

The deadline each year for these scholarships is May 1.  More information can be found at the KAB website

Students receiving scholarships, their home town, and the school they are attending in the fall are:

Will Anderson, Kansas City, KS – Kansas City Kansas CC

Victoria Baldwin, Wichita – University of Kansas

Tim Burns, Horton – Kansas Wesleyan

Austin Ditges, Offerle – Dodge City CC

Lindsey Mayfield, Overland Park – University of Kansas

Zachary Mitchell, Coffeyville – Pittsburg State University

Dylan Sherwood, Emporia – University of Kansas

Leave a Reply